Memories.

It’s finished!!!  Ready for the tad-dah moment ?  I give you flowers.  Flowers  everywhere to drape a round my neck….

Something to brighten up the day when the wind blows – as it is doing now!  Yes the clouds are fair scuttling across the sky.   It is very blue and the sun is shining, but the little clouds are whizzing  past.  So it will be a day to wrap up warm!

Or stay in and play!  Yes I did it.  I had a playtime.  I did what I said I would do and I enjoyed it!  I finished the ironing and thought while the board was out I would iron flat all my little pieces of fabric.  The bits that I pop in a basket.

Little bits that I think will make an eye or a centre.  Bigger bits that I had every intension of cutting neatly to make patches.  All nicely ironed flat and colour coded.

Reds and green, yellows and blues.

All ready to position and sew.  And then the smile came.  The light bulb went on.  The smile became a grin and then a warm glow.  I knew what I would sew it on.  Last week I went fishing.  Fishing in the cupboard under the stairs.  I brought out Mum’s machine.  The machine she bought in the war up in Scotland.  The machine she made our clothes on.  The machine my sister learnt to use and the one I used, making dresses, skirts, jackets, trousers, bags.  You name it we made it.  Mum’s machine….

with its decoration and silver parts…

Oh the memories….  and it was good to sit and sew at a leisurely pace.  Stopping and creeping along.  Turning the handle as slow as I wanted.  Yes I enjoyed it and I made a block…

All neatly trimmed and filed for the next one!

And in the evening a little bit of stash busting with my hook….

Well I had to hook didn’t I?!

About alisonb2

A Christian Mum who crafts
This entry was posted in crochet, Inspiration, sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Memories.

  1. Julie says:

    Gorgeous scarf.

  2. greenrabbitdesigns says:

    What a beautiful old machine! 🙂
    I love the scarf, it’s gorgeous Alison!!!
    Vivienne x

  3. Tatha says:

    The scarf is lovely! Would make a pretty afghan too!

  4. Angie says:

    Wow, you had a good, productive day. Love the machine… Blessings, friend.

  5. Pattygloria says:

    I love that old machine, I wish I can get one formyself. Your scarf looks great! Beautiful colour combination in your granny crochet, too.
    Gloria x

  6. Maria says:

    What a beautiful old machine. Very lucky to have a working one. Seems like you had a wonderful day

  7. alisonb2 says:

    Thank you everyone for your kind comments. Yes I did enjoy using Mum’s machine and I made another block today too!

  8. felicity says:

    oh Ali I think using your mums’ sewing machine is lovely, your hands will be where hers once was, and all those memories will come back, im sure your mum is watching and smiling! fliss xxx

  9. PaisleyJade says:

    I just love your flower scarf! I’ve made one similar – yet slightly less awesome!

  10. Hi Alison
    I don’t have your email address so can only contact you here. You asked about joining the Japanese Flowers in my scarf (I’m pearlyqueen on Flickr).

    I do a final round of slipstitches in black, After that I just put black in a needle and sew the flowers together, right sides facing, through two of the scallops. It is pretty well invisible and a lot more firm than joining with a slip stich as you go!

    Penny
    x

  11. I LOVE the scarf, it’s so BEAUTIFUL…perfect for a spring day.

    What will you be doing with the block?

    xxh

Leave a Reply

