Hook, hook, hooking!

I really enjoyed my crafting sessions last week!  I stumbled across a stunning flickr page.  I was so inspired by this lady that I had to make contact and she made contact too!!!!  Yippee!  Ruthiesjoy’s photostream is a real colour fest.  You must take a look – here . She is truly very talented and I love, love, looovvve her flowers.  I loved them so much that I just had to have a go.  The pattern is from a book called “Afghans for all Seasons” by Anne Childs,-  not a book I know- and the pattern is ‘Wildflower wrap’.  So I had a play around and worked out a similar pattern, which I just love doing.   Hook, hook, hooking!!  Want to see?  Have a peep?

The colours are not as bright as in real life.  Electric light always makes them appear dull, but I just had to show you. I couldn’t wait for the day light.   I love them so much.  I decided not to join together as I go. Why?  I love moving them around.  Building little stacks…

See what I mean about the colours?  The top left is infact a deep purple!  Little stacks get put into big stacks….

before being knocked over and rearranged….

and snapped…

and snapped…

The best bit is yet to come – for me – because this week I am on holiday!  A whole week at home, for me to potter about inside and outside, with little bits of flower making in between.  So as the sun is shining it will be an outside day today, with the odd coffee and hooking to make the day go with a zing!!  A zing??  Where did that come from?  Don’t you find your fingers take you to all  sorts of words when you’re blogging??!!

About alisonb2

A Christian Mum who crafts
This entry was posted in crochet, Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hook, hook, hooking!

  1. greenrabbitdesigns says:

    They’re lovely Alison. 🙂
    I can see why you want to play with them! They’re like building blocks for grown-ups!!
    I’m off now to have a look at your link.
    Have a lovely week. 🙂
    Vivienne x

  2. Tatha says:

    Oh I love these motifs. Very pretty. I can see a whole afghan of them. And you can make it look different just by how you arrange the colors!

  3. val says:

    Hi Alison, I love your flowers, Spring has come to your house good and proper!I hope you will let us in on the secret of how to make one :0)
    I was on a lovely blog see here http://fourfiftythree.blogspot.com/
    and look at her post for 23 February, I thought of you and perhaps they would be a good little selling craft for your Sunshine school stall.
    Have a grrrrrrrrrrreat week!
    love Val xx

  4. They’re gorgeous, as I am in a purple phase I am really loving the lilac flowers 😀

    Have a wonderful week in the Spring sun!!

    p.s. what are you planning on doing with your flowerfest?

    xxh

Leave a Reply

