Ta-dah!

It’s finished!  Yes I finally finished my attic24 Granny Stripe at the weekend.  It has been nearly there for a couple of weeks but I just couldn’t get myself into the groove.  You know what I mean – every hook, twist and turn was just that bit too laborious.  I’d do a couple and then put it down.  My mind wasn’t with it.  But Saturday came and I didn’t feel like doing a lot so I sat curled up on the settee – my knee will shout about that! – and tried a couple of trebles and then sat and then a couple of trebles….. You get the picture I’m sure! And before I knew it…… tadah!!!!!

The sun was streaming through the window making all the colours so vibrant.

I love the mix and the clashes.  They are part and parcel of my little bundle.  But the edging……

Bellisssiiimmmmo!!  The little picot edging was… well… somewhat frustrating.  I tried three different patterns and frogged them all, before adapting the last one.  3dc into the dcs below, 4ch and then a ss into the space between the previous dcs, and it worked a treat!

It is now folded and ready and waiting for the warmer weather – I know, blankets are for winter – but this one is going into the caravan to add a splash of colour to the neutral interior.  So now what?

Well, Sunday saw me browse through my new magazine.

I was in for a surprise, for there on page 30 was Sewing Daisies and a few pages further on Comfortstitching!!  These two ladies are soooo inspirational  and I have followed there blogs for quite a while now.  Well done ladies for making it into print again!!  Now to live up to their example, particularly Sewing Daisies.  24 projects from Sew Hip in a year!  Pheeww!!  So iI turned and studied and turned and looked.  I wanted to do something where I could sit cosily and sew.  With my glasses on and then off!  It didn’t matter about watching the tv, it was only football!  (Sadly Forest lost, but they played well!)  So I went for the corsage….

The cutting out was easy and once I had worked out how to fold the strips the sewing was a doddle too!  Then the fun started.  I layered and sewed, and then unpicked.  Repeat!  Twice more I sewed and unpicked.  The curls would not lay for me, but I persevered and after three hours I came up with this….

Yes it had to be purple!

And I think a fair attempt at something a little fiddly which was classed for a beginner!  Like the beads?  A little bit of me!  So one productive weekend.

About alisonb2

A Christian Mum who crafts
This entry was posted in crochet, Inspiration, sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Ta-dah!

  1. Julie says:

    Two gorgeous finished objects in one post! They are both lovely. I like the purple picot edge on the blanket.

  2. greenrabbitdesigns says:

    The blanket is gorgeous and will certainly add a splash of colour to your summer outings! The corsage is stunning, so pretty!
    Well done on your productive weekend Alison! 🙂
    Vivienne x

  3. Angie says:

    Congratulations on finishing your blanket, Alison. Well done, indeed! I always love a picot edging.

  4. Maria says:

    The granny looks wonderful and congrats on your sewing achievements too

  5. val says:

    Hi Alison, I can’t wait to see your vibrant beautiful blanket in your caravan – as well as it being destined for warmer weather, I hope you will give us a peek at it in all its final placing. I so love caravans :0) Sadly I don’t have a car so a caravan is not in view, but I do to think of the Open Road, like Mr. Toad :0)
    You must have lots of patience to keep on going with the corsage and not just designate it to the bin! Well done, it is very good.
    Have a lovely week,
    Val xx

  6. Lovely granny stripe blankie. You must be so pleased to have it finished and sooooo proud, it’s gorgeous.

  7. ooo I love the blanket – the colours are amazing!

    Thank you for mentioning my blog and your continued support, I really couldn’t have finished all those projects without the ‘bloglove’ 😀

    I love the look of the corsage…I may have to give that one a go too, I havn’t made one before either.

    (I hope my issue arrives this week).
    xxh

  8. Gillian says:

    Congratulations on finishing your blanket, it is BEAUTIFUL!!!! 🙂

  9. Lucy@Attic24 says:

    wow your GS is so beautiful Alsion, no wonder your thrilled!
    And lovely that yours is also going to be a caravan blanket, yaaayyyy for caravan blankies!!!!!!
    Lots of love to you
    Lucexxxxxxxxxxxxx

  10. Desiree says:

    Thanks for your nice commens on my blog, I came to visit yours and founds such wonderful things! Lots of colorful projects and wonderful things going on here! Thanks for visiting

Leave a Reply

