Growing..

Yes it is growing.  My Granny Stripe is growing.  Whether it is growing in the right way I’m not sure.  In fact I nearly frogged the lot and dump it in a bag ready to go into that hole.  You know the one I mean.  The one under the stairs for all those things that didn’t quite make the grade.  But then I thought woaw.  Have  a think.  Have a look.  What don’t I like?  Can I work with it, because I am enjoying the pattern.  It was the red.  It wasn’t quite right, but I thought if I make it a feature and put it right through the blanket  it may be alright.  So that is what I am doing and it is growing on me!  Here we go….

(I love adding photos to my post.  Why?  Because when it is loading it goes ‘crunching’!!  Sometimes it seems to ‘crunch’ for ages!)

Can you see what I mean about the red?  Dominant isn’t it?  I need another green too. So a few more pennies will spent on a softer green.  Probably a moss green.  However,  I love this corner. It is so cornerish!

And I love this section.  I spent many twenty minutes yesterday and the day before hooking away, in between all those housey jobs you have to do.  So on the whole I like it but……

Something else is growing too.  Something that has sat dormant on my mantle piece for nearly 2 – 3 years.  I thought it was growing before and in a way it was  – a new leaf.  But this time it really is growing – a flower stalk….

Can you see – not one but two little orchid stalks!  Wwwwweeeeee!!  It will soon look like this…

I’m pleased I didn’t throw it out!  Have a good weekend with what ever is growing for you!

About alisonb2

A Christian Mum who crafts
This entry was posted in crochet, Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Growing..

  1. greenrabbitdesigns says:

    Hi Alison,
    I’ve just found your blog through a comment you left on my Flickr. I see you’re a 20 Minuter too!
    Your Granny Stripe is looking great. I’m tempted to have a go at one myself but I’m doing a Dottie Angel blanket at the moment as well as many other WIP’s so I don’t think I’ll start another project just yet! It’s been lovely to “meet” you, I’ll drop in again.
    Vivienne x

  2. Lucy@Attic24 says:

    your stripes are looking yummy\!!
    :o)xx

  3. a-m says:

    I have the same thoughts about my never ending blanket, but I think when the whole thing is done you’ll love it!

    I feel a bit silly seeing your orchid. A couple of years ago my mum bought me one. Once it finished flowering it began to look very forelorn, so out to the compost heap it went… argh! Now I know better, thanks!!

    a-m x

  4. felicity says:

    I see what you mean about the red at the beginning but it looks nice now with another red stripe. i think ur crochet always looks fab so id trust your instincts and keep going! my mum loves orchids, mine always die! fliss xx

  5. val says:

    Hi Alison, I seem to have been out of things for simply ages with moving house, area and no internet! But it is lovely to see you again now that I am back, I have thought of starting a Lucy stripe but I think it will have to wait until we are more straight. I know I should not covet, but I think having a caravan is such fun :0)
    It will be a lovely addition, especially on chilly caravan days. xx

  6. Pooch says:

    Your comments about the red and green remind me of a class I attended at Stitches West in February. Laura Bryant was talking about arranging yarn in groups by the weight of the color as opposed to yarn weight. Each of us grouped yarns by the color weight,i.e., the “heavier” colors together, etc. It was quite enlightening and has proven helpful to me in determining the look I want and the weights of colors that appeal to me.

    Your blanket is looking luscious and will bring many good snuggles to those who use it!

    🙂

Leave a Reply

