Flowers!

I love flowers and I have included many in my ramblings.  But Mother’s Day cannot go by without another post and photo on flowers!!  So here we are….

Firstly these beautiful blooms were a gift to me from me!  They are all at different stages.  See the tight bud at the back and then the unfurling one in front.  I know they will keep going for sometime and go through that showy stage before dropping petals left right and centre…

Then there are these.  A bouquet from my son.  Chrysanthemums, carnations, and a rose, with  a bit of gypsofilia.  I know I will end up putting little bunches here, there and everywhere but at the moment I am enjoying them on mass!

This little trug found its way to MIL.  We went for dinner yesterday and enjoyed roast beef and all the trimmings, including Yorkshire Puddings!  I cannot make these.  No matter how hard I try, whichever recipe I follow they just end up like shoe leather or coasters!!  And no it isn’t the oven – my Son makes beautiful ones in the same oven!!  Tips gratefully received or I will continue using those from a certain Aunt B at the shop!  Flowers…..

These are the daffodils left over from Mum and Dad.  We went down to put some on their grave and took too many, but having said that it is nice bringing a bit back home!  Memories.

Now, flowers of the woollen kind..

A little stack of African Flowers….

or a posy!  These are a joy to make and I owe it all to http://minspiration.blogspot.com/ It took me a while to work it out as the instructions used sc and dc.  I think they must be based on the American terms and are actually dc and tr. Well that is what I used and they look OK to me!  So what else have I been up to?  This….

another little Rainbow Baby.  Yes I know she needs a face!!!

A little gingham lining.  Yes I know it needs stitching in!!

Another new bag completed, well nearly…

Yes I know it needs a lining!!  And finally this…

I picked it off my ‘thinking pile’.  Do you have a thinking pile?  A pile of things that just didn’t quite work out and you don’t know what to do with them!  Well this has been lurking there for about 18 months and the time has come for me to bite the bullet and just go for it.  I learnt an awful lot about machine piecing while making this my first proper pieced quilt and I am still learning.  Machine quilting just doesn’t flow.

Can you see how it has pushed the top?  Why? Am I not tacking enough?  Heeeeeeelllllllppppp!  Please!  Pretty please!  But I will bind it and put it down to experience and learning.  So yes, I know it wants it’s binding!  The secret is out – what will I be doing for my next few 20 minute sessions? Sewing!

So that is me.  Up to date.  Just one thank you to do.  To a lovely lady in the High Peak.  “Thank you.”

About alisonb2

A Christian Mum who crafts
This entry was posted in crochet, Knitting, sewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Flowers!

  1. Lynne says:

    Hi Alison, You have been busy. The quilt is lovely and fresh. It’s so good to get an item finished when it has been around for a while.
    Did you start your tacking in the middle? I haven’t quilted many quilts, but when I do, I start in the centre and work outwards, smoothing the fabric gently as I go, but not pushing it so that it distorts. Maybe an extra row of tacking inbetween the tacking you have would help as well. Just a suggestion.
    The posy of African flowers is a delight. I think I will pop on over and take a look at the pattern.
    Can’t wait to see what your next 20 minutes bring.

  2. val says:

    Hi Alison, I cannot think why it has been on your Thinking Pile for 18 months – it’s gorgeous! and I love your crochet flowers.
    But your Real Flowers are lovely to show and share God’s amazing creation! Thank you for sharing.
    love and blessings,
    Val

  3. Hello Alison,
    Well, you have been busy! I love all of your crochet, especially the flowers and the bags.

    Machine Quilting – I was told to pin with 1″ saftey pins (don’t use old nappy pins) instead of tacking as fabric can still ‘slide’ on tacking. The pins lock the layers without moving, but you need quite a few.
    Start quilting from the centre out. So stitch from top to bottom and then across from left to right. Then work your way out. Roll up the excess quilt and hold with bicycle clips to fit it under the machine.
    Lastly, it’s really worth buying a ‘quilting foot’ for your machine. This chomps along the top fabric at the same rate at the bottom fabric to stop the puckering! Go on, put it on your birthday list!

    Good luck,
    Fi x

Leave a Reply

