Found it ….I think!

I’ve been searching!  Getting cross and frustrated when I decide that  – no this isn’t it.  Probably trying too hard to get it into focus and not really hearing my Son when he says time and time again -‘Just let it happen, Mum.  Don’t try too hard!’  He is right.  I think I have found it.  Eureka!!!

I’ve been trying something new yet again.  Something that could be a little more creative in that I will let it evolve and develop rather than follow a set pattern.  Want to see….

Yes, I have tried machine embroidery and I have loved it!!  This was my first attempt.  The tension wasn’t quite right but got better.  Go number two….

well actually, numbers two and three.  The one on the right looked neater.  I put the upper tension to 2.  It is a New Home machine.  The stitch length to 0 and went for it.  Marmaladerose’s tutorial helped – thank you Fi – but it still isn’t quite right, so any tips will be gratefully received.

That was yesterday –

So today I thought I would try the next step….

and a closer look….

and the back….

It is still a little loopy, but I enjoyed trying and I think as it develops, and practice makes perfect – ha ha!! –  I will have found my creative outlet!!!

In the mean time I have been knitting and crocheting for the Sun Shine School….

Little flowers have blossomed into hair bobbles..

and rainbow colours have formed a rainbow baby…

or two!  This is Jean Greenhowe’s charity pattern.  A dream to knit and the babies were very popular last time.  Now I’m off back to play!!!!

About alisonb2

A Christian Mum who crafts
This entry was posted in crochet, Knitting, sewing, Sun Shine School and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Found it ….I think!

  1. Julie says:

    I love the flower applique, it is very pretty!

  2. Lynne says:

    Hi Alison,
    I’ve recently been trying free machining too. I rather enjoy it.
    Love the hair bobbles and the Rainbow Babies.

  3. OO! I’m so excited that you’ve had a go. Well done, you’ve done a great job. That’s right loosen the top tension. Try lots of different fabrics, maybe natural fabrics will work better. The flower applique is lovely, you must be pleased with it.

    Your hair flowers and knitting are lovely. Keep up the good work.

  4. Anne-Marie says:

    I saw your flower applique on the 20 Minuters’ Flickr Group board and had to come over and say I love it! Thanks for sharing it, I’m not brave enough to do that on my machine…yet…
    Thanks!
    a-m x

Leave a Reply

