Beckoning!

It has been sitting in the corner of the lounge for the past four weeks amidst a jumble of wools, needles, hooks and patterns, but I turned my back on them all.  No, I couldn’t pick them up.  Not yet. For there was no comfort in their bright colours.  I knew there would be soon, but not yet.

Well the soon came yesterday.  I had a sorting out day.  An integrating day.  A day to stroke and hug and say thank you.  Thank you for all the gems.  The patterns, the kits, the completed pictures and cards.  A day to combine my craft stuff with Mum’s craft stuff.  So I cleared the shelves and threw out the rubbish and carefully stacked the boxes, the tins, and the baskets.  Boy did it feel good!  I sat and looked at it and smiled.  And then the moment came.  I needed something to hug.  Something to feel warm in.  Something to connect with, to sit and hold.  So I sorted the wools.  I folded the materials, and there at the bottom it beckoned.  My attic24 bag.

100_2096

The smilie flower on the side.  The handles criss crossed on top.

100_2097

The balls of wool saying gently “Pick me. pick me”.

100_2098

So I did.  I pulled it out and hugged it.  Crumpled it.  Made it cosy.

100_2100

And then I began.  In, out, round a bout and through.  Oh was it therapeutic!  I lingered and counted and hugged and completed my first row of gentle ripples.

100_2101

This morning I laid it out, smiled and remembered.  Mum loved this creation, my ripple blanket. So I will finish it and then curl up with it to remember all those happy times. Wrapped in my ripple!

About alisonb2

A Christian Mum who crafts
This entry was posted in crochet and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Beckoning!

  1. felicity says:

    its a lovely way to help you remember each ripple catching thoughts and feelings, and the warm cosiness of the blanket just like a big cuddle! fliss xx

Leave a Reply

