I have been busy – honestly!!

Well, here we are again!  Time to show you  some shots of our garden.  I have been spending quite a bit of time pottering around it and the flowers are now coming out a treat!

100_1926

The strawberry pots are blooming and producing our first crop of strawberries.

100_1921

The irises are very majestic and magnificent.

100_1929

The foxgloves are home to the bumble bees.

100_1942

The peony flowers are so big and blousey.

100_1949

100_1950

And the canterbury bells are the tallest I have ever seen them!

So  from pots…

100_1965

to paths…

100_1977

to rocky areas…

100_1971

and golden birds…

100_1985

to hooking!

The backs have been carefully sewn.

100_1994

The flowers positioned and embellished.

100_1989

100_1990

100_1991

100_1992

100_1993

But why so many brooches?

I am making them to raise some money for the Sun Shine School in Israel.  This is a small Christian school in the Arab area just outside Jerusalem.  The teachers have 59 children from 14 different nationalities all aged between 2 and 6 years.  The children are taught in English and are very bright and cheery, despite the physical size of the school.  It is in the ground floor flat of a small building.  The newest teacher has just graduated from Cambridge and she looks after 6 little 3 year olds in what was the stock cupboard!  If I had been living out there I would have helped in the school, but I am not, so all I can do to help is fund raise and that is what I am doing!  I am very grateful to Lucy of Attic 24, who has let me use her posy pattern.  Sun Shine goodies will soon be packaged and ready to go to their first venue.  Brooches, cards, note-lets, sewing kits and eventually a series of little books where a bear visits the sites of Israel!  Now where did that idea come from………??

About alisonb2

A Christian Mum who crafts
This entry was posted in crochet, Gardening, Places, Sun Shine School and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I have been busy – honestly!!

  1. Wanda says:

    Your canterbury bells look like my balloon flowers. Are they the same thing? I always wondered if canterbury bells were real flowers after hearing about them in nursery rhymes.

Leave a Reply

