Rainbow Days!

It looks as if   it is another dull day here, so what better way to brighten a day than to look at rainbows!  Richard Of York Gained Battle In Vain!  Red, Orange, Yellow, Green, Blue, Indigo, and Violet!!  That was the saying my Mum taught me, when I was tiny, to remember the order of the colours of the rainbow, and it is the one that I passed on to the children in my classes when teaching!  I used to love teaching the 4 and 5 year olds their colours.  We would have colour days when everyone went dressed in the same colour.  Yes we were all in the same colour but oh so many different hues!  We would paint, stick, and generally get messy in the colour and then eat food of that colour.  (Yes we did wash our hands in between!)  Blue food always made us think.  We didn’t have blue Smarties in those days!!!  Then at the end of term we had a rainbow day, wearing every single colour in the brightest possible hues!  Oh to be teaching in the good old days again!  Haaaaaaaa…….!

But what of the rainbow today?  Well yesterday I bought this to cheer me up after failing to get a quilting foot for my sewing machine.

100_0625

Fat lines, thin lines, and oh so crisp!

100_0626

A new book makes you want to smooth it, hug it, write in it in your best possible hand writing.  It sits there on my bedside table waiting for me, but not yet.  I want to show you these.

100_0627

Aren’t they tiny?  My ‘Bright’ rainbow wool flowers.

100_0628

Sitting in a row!

100_0635

Or a group!

100_0634

With centres sorted from old buttons!

100_0633

But these are only the first of many.  I shall need many more before I stitch them onto this.

100_0629

It is growing.  I am about half way there now.

100_0631

This is where this particular rainbow stops and the deep navy takes over.  When that is done, my little flowers will come into play!

So have a very happy rainbow day!!

100_0638

About alisonb2

A Christian Mum who crafts
This entry was posted in crochet and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rainbow Days!

  1. Melly says:

    What a colourful, fun and chirpy post!!! Just adore those flowers – they are oh so sweet!!! =]

  2. Nessa (Knittingoma) says:

    Alison…your whole site is a treat to scroll through…so colourful and uplifting…and yes God is good giving us so many blessings in life to look at and appreciate….’how awseome is His handiwork’….keep up the good ‘blogging’ …I have bookmarked your site to keep up. God bless.

    Nessa

Leave a Reply

