Doodle Bug.

We have all done it, drawing in the margin at an important meeting; swirling our way down the page during the lecture when we should have been taking notes; making circles while on the phone; or angular patterns when angry.  The general doodle!  Well, at the library the other day I came across the book Doodle-stitching by Aimee Ray.  Letting your needle do the thinking!

I had already found my tins of silks and decided that I didn’t want to do a cross stitch design, so the idea of doodling seem like a good idea!  Last night I took the opportunity to doodle, first in my sketch/thinking book and then free hand with a needle.  The latter proved the most satisfying, with the sketch book being a bit contrived.  However would I have come up with the finished brooch without the contrived part first – I doubt it!

100_0564

I started opposite the wellie/brollie page as inspiration – raindrops!

100_0565

(Sorry about the dazzle!)  Having doodled the main shapes I then did the red progressing to the green, before leaving the page to work on the needle doodle itself in the top corner.

100_0568

Chain stitch, stem stitch, bullion knots and herring bone.  I think I should have done the blanket stitch around it in white, but on the whole I am quite pleased and will certainly continue to doodle with a needle!

About alisonb2

A Christian Mum who crafts
This entry was posted in Inspiration, sewing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

